Psycrence is a melodic heavy metal band based in Athens, Greece. They were formed in August 2009 and consist of Takis Nikolakakis (Vocals), Thomas Kouris (Bass guitar), Michael Aggelos Kouropoulos (Guitars), Kimon Zeliotis (Guitars) and Timoleon Valsamakis (Drums). In December 2010 they released a self-produced demo EP titled “Distance” which received excellent and very encouraging reviews from the press. Following the release of the demo EP psycrence participated in a series of local live shows to promote it including Tunes in progress festival.
In late 2013 they finished recording/mixing/mastering their debut album titled “A Frail Deception”. Mastering was done by Jens Bogren (Opeth, Soilwork, SymphonyX, Paradise Lost etc.). Cover artwork was designed by Colin Marks (Scar Symmetry, Nevermore, Exodus, Jeff Loomis etc.).
Through their music Psycrence attempt to combine the aggressiveness and heavy sound of 7string guitars with melody and atmosphere. They write music infused with progressive elements but which, at the same time, remains focused and direct. Some of their influences include Dream Theater, Nevermore, Symphony X, Soilwork, Scar Symmetry, Pink Floyd etc.